Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeLlanberis Lake Railway

  • Visit Wales VAQAS

Steam Railway, next open Sun 21 May - Sat 2 Sep 2017, £4.50-£8.50

Passing at Cei Llydan

Passing at Cei Llydan

Thomas Bach and Elidir pass at Cei Llydan

Details

Starting at Gilfach Ddu, the journey takes you past the 13th century Dolbadarn Castle, crossing possibly Britain's shortest river and passing Llanberis' twin lakes as the train negotiates the extension (opened in 2003) to Llanberis village. From here the train runs non-stop through the Padarn Country Park, joining the 1845 slate railway route to run along the shores of Lake Padarn to Penllyn, and giving stunning views of Snowdon, the highest peak in England and Wales.

On its return, the train makes a short stop at Cei Llydan, an ideal place for a lakeside picnic, before arriving back at Gilfach Ddu. Here you can watch the driver stoking the fire, the engine taking water, or spend some time visiting our gift shop and cafe.

The five mile return trip takes around 60 minutes, and all advertised trains are scheduled to be hauled by one of our vintage steam engines rescued from the nearby Dinorwic slate quarries.

All our trains have wheelchair accommodation, but spaces are limited, so please let us know you are coming. Toilets, including disabled access, are situated nearby in the Country Park.

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsFacilities for groupsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePostboxPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberAccepts groups

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs accepted

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sun 21 May - Sat 2 Sep 2017
Sun 3 - Sat 9 Sep 2017
Sun 10 - Fri 15 Sep 2017
Sun 17 - Fri 22 Sep 2017
Sun 24 - Fri 29 Sep 2017
Sun 1 - Thu 5 Oct 2017
Sun 8 - Thu 12 Oct 2017
Sun 15 - Thu 19 Oct 2017
Sun 22 - Thu 26 Oct 2017
Sun 29 Oct - Sat 4 Nov 2017
Tue 7 - Wed 8 Nov 2017
Tue 14 - Wed 15 Nov 2017
Tue 21 - Wed 22 Nov 2017
Tue 28 - Wed 29 Nov 2017
Sun 3 Dec 2017
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Dec 2017
Sat 16 - Sun 17 Dec 2017
Please see website for train times.

Prices

2017 Fares: Adult £8.50, Concessions £7.50, Child travelling alone £4.50. Full range of value family tickets available for any combination of adults and children (eg 2 adults & 2 children £22.00; 1 adult & 3 children £18.00).

Events at this Venue

date event
Sun 29 Oct - Thu 2 Nov Halloween Hunt

Address

Gilfach Ddu,
Llanberis,
Gwynedd,
LL55 4TY

Location

Directions

Plan route to Llanberis Lake Railway using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SH 585602  Lat: 53.12059 Long: -4.11526

Just off the A4086 Caernarfon - Capel Curig road. The approach road to the Railway is clearly signposted off the main road at the south end of Llanberis, almost opposite the Snowdon Railway station.

Parking: with charge

Accessible by Public Transport: 10 miles from Bangor station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • PostboxPostbox
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted