Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeWelsh Highland Railway

  • Visit Wales VAQAS

Steam Railway, next open Sat 15 - Sun 16 Dec 2018

Welsh Highland Railway (Caernarfon)

Welsh Highland Railway (Caernarfon)

On the approach to Porthmadog.

Details

The Welsh Highland Railway is the UK's longest heritage railway and runs for 25 miles from Caernarfon where trains start from beneath the castle walls.

Rail Route: Caernarfon to Porthmadog.

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsFacilities for groupsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberTelephone (public)Accepts groupsFacilities for corporate hospitality

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs acceptedSmoking not allowedFacilities for visually impaired

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sat 15 - Sun 16 Dec 2018
Sat 22 - Sun 23 Dec 2018
Thu 27 Dec 2018 - Tue 1 Jan 2019
Sat 16 - Sun 17 Feb 2019
Tue 19 - Thu 21 Feb 2019
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Feb 2019
Tue 26 - Thu 28 Feb 2019
Sat 2 - Sun 3 Mar 2019
Wed 6 - Thu 7 Mar 2019
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Mar 2019
Wed 13 - Thu 14 Mar 2019
Sat 16 - Sun 17 Mar 2019
Wed 20 - Thu 21 Mar 2019
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Mar 2019
Wed 27 - Thu 28 Mar 2019
Sat 30 - Sun 31 Mar 2019
Tue 2 - Thu 4 Apr 2019
Sat 6 Apr - Thu 2 May 2019
Sat 4 - Thu 9 May 2019
Sat 11 - Sun 12 May 2019
Tue 14 May - Thu 6 Jun 2019
Sat 8 - Thu 13 Jun 2019
Sat 15 Jun - Thu 3 Oct 2019
Sat 5 - Sun 6 Oct 2019
Tue 8 - Thu 10 Oct 2019
Sat 12 - Sun 13 Oct 2019
Tue 15 - Thu 17 Oct 2019
Sat 19 Oct - Sat 2 Nov 2019
Welsh Highland Railway operating days; please see website for train times.

Prices

For details of fares, please refer to website.

Contact

Enquiries

Location

Directions

Caernarfon Station (LL55 2YD) is situated close to the Castle on St. Helen's Road, approximately 10 minutes walk from the bus station and public car parks. Rhyd Ddu station is on the Sherpa bus network.

Parking: with charge

Accessible by Public Transport: 10 miles from Bangor station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Telephone (public)Telephone (public)
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for corporate hospitalityFacilities for corporate hospitality
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted
  • Smoking not allowedSmoking not allowed
  • Facilities for visually impairedFacilities for visually impaired