Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeWelsh Highland Railway

  • Visit Wales VAQAS

Steam Railway, next open Sat 14 - Sun 15 Dec 2019

Welsh Highland Railway (Caernarfon)

Welsh Highland Railway (Caernarfon)

On the approach to Porthmadog.

Details

The Welsh Highland Railway is the UK's longest heritage railway and runs for 25 miles from Caernarfon where trains start from beneath the castle walls for the journey to Porthmadog.

The trains, hauled by the world's most powerful narrow gauge steam locomotives, climb from sea level to over 650ft on the foothills of Snowdon, before zig-zagging dramatically down the steep hillside to reach Beddgelert, nestling in the heart of the National Park, then through the magnificent Aberglaslyn Pass and on to Porthmadog.

Passengers ride in some of the most comfortable carriages on any heritage railway in the UK, including first class Pullman luxury and freshly-cooked food delivered to your seat.

Rail Route: Caernarfon to Porthmadog.

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsFacilities for groupsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberTelephone (public)Accepts groupsFacilities for corporate hospitality

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs acceptedSmoking not allowedFacilities for visually impaired

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Dec 2019
Sat 21 - Sun 22 Dec 2019
Thu 26 Dec 2019 - Wed 1 Jan 2020
Sat 15 - Sun 23 Feb 2020
Wed 26 - Thu 27 Feb 2020
Sat 29 Feb - Sun 1 Mar 2020
Wed 4 - Thu 5 Mar 2020
Sat 7 - Sun 8 Mar 2020
Wed 11 - Thu 12 Mar 2020
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Mar 2020
Wed 18 - Thu 19 Mar 2020
Sat 21 - Sun 22 Mar 2020
Wed 25 - Thu 26 Mar 2020
Sat 28 - Sun 29 Mar 2020
Tue 31 Mar 2020
Welsh Highland Railway operating days; please see website for train times.

Prices

For details of fares, please refer to website.

Address

St Helen's Road,
Caernarfon,
Gwynedd,
LL55 2YD

Location

Directions

Plan route to Welsh Highland Railway using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SH 481624  Lat: 53.13710 Long: -4.27147

Caernarfon Station (LL55 2YD) is situated close to the Castle on St. Helen's Road, approximately 10 minutes walk from the bus station and public car parks. Rhyd Ddu station is on the Sherpa bus network.

Parking: with charge

Accessible by Public Transport: 10 miles from Bangor station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Telephone (public)Telephone (public)
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for corporate hospitalityFacilities for corporate hospitality
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted
  • Smoking not allowedSmoking not allowed
  • Facilities for visually impairedFacilities for visually impaired