Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeBala Lake Railway

  • Visit Wales VAQAS

Steam Railway, next open Sat 1 Jul - Thu 7 Sep 2017, £10-£11

Bala Lake Railway

Bala Lake Railway

Bala Lake Railway

Details

For a perfect day out, why not ride a narrow-gauge train on the Bala Lake Railway, along Wales’ largest natural lake. Llanuwchllyn ('the village above the lake') is the headquarters of the Railway and regular trains link the village with the delightful market town of Bala.

Rheilffordd Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake Railway) is one of the Great Little Trains of Wales. The 2ft gauge line offers a delightful 9 mile return journey along Llyn Tegid, through the beautiful scenery of the Snowdonia National Park. The little trains give excellent views of the lake amid its surrounding pastoral and woodland scenery, and of the nearby mountains, Arenig Fawr and Aran Benllyn.

The railway provides an ideal centrepiece for a day’s visit to Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake). A round trip of about I hour can be broken at any of the stations to enjoy other activities - a pleasant 10 minutes walk into Bala town for shopping or merely browsing access to the lake shore at various intermediate points for swimming, fishing or simply lazing by the waterside; the shaded woodland nooks at Bryn Hynod are ideal for picnics, and there is a large picnic site by the beach at Llangower.

On most of our operating days we run four trains departing from our main station at Llanuwchllyn for an hour round trip at 11:00, 12:45, 14:20 and 15:55. In February, 4 March and some dates in April, May, July, Sept, Oct & Nov there are three trains at 11:30, 13:20 & 15:00.

Rail Route: Llanuwchllyn - Bala

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Gift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberAccepts groups

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs acceptedSmoking not allowed

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sat 1 Jul - Thu 7 Sep 2017
Sat 9 - Thu 14 Sep 2017
Sat 16 - Sun 17 Sep 2017
Tue 19 - Thu 21 Sep 2017
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Sep 2017
Tue 26 - Thu 28 Sep 2017
Sat 30 Sep - Sun 1 Oct 2017
Thu 5 Oct 2017
Thu 12 Oct 2017
Thu 19 Oct 2017
Sun 22 Oct 2017
Tue 24 - Thu 26 Oct 2017
Sat 28 - Sun 29 Oct 2017
Tue 31 Oct - Thu 2 Nov 2017
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Dec 2017

Prices

2017 Prices:
Adult: £11.00, Senior £10.00
Child 3 - 15 (unaccompanied): £5.50
Family (2 Adults + 2 Children) : £26.00
Child fares available for children aged 3 - 15 inclusive; under 3's travel for free
Dogs: £1.00 (Guide dogs free)

Events at this Venue

date event
Fri 25 - Mon 28 Aug Steam Gala
Sat 28 Oct Halloween Trains
Tue 31 Oct Halloween Trains
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Dec Santa Trains

Address

Llanuwchlyn Station,
Llanuwchlyn,
Bala,
Gwynedd,
LL23 7DD

Location

Directions

Plan route to Bala Lake Railway using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SH 882299  Lat: 52.85494 Long: -3.66180

Off the A494 at Llanuwchllyn
Free parking at Llanuwchlyn

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 23 miles from Barmouth station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted
  • Smoking not allowedSmoking not allowed