Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeBrecon Mountain Railway

  • Visit Wales VAQAS

Steam Railway, next open Sat 23 - Sun 24 Nov 2019, £4-£15

Brecon Mountain Railway

Brecon Mountain Railway

Brecon Mountain Railway

Details

Travel in one of our all-weather observation coaches behind a vintage steam locomotive through beautiful scenery into the Brecon Beacons National Park along the full length of the Taf Fechan Reservoir to Torpantau, high in the Brecon Beacons - on one of the most popular railways in Wales.

At Pontsticill you can alight from the train and visit the Cafe, admire the view across the water to the peaks of the Brecon Beacons, and go for a ramble alongside the reservoir. There is a play area here for children.

On your return to Pant, visit our workshop where old steam locomotives are repaired - follow the footpath to a picnic site which has an amazing panoramic view of the valley. Visit our Licensed Tearooms and buy a souvenir of your visit in our shop.

Rail Route: Pant - Torpantau

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (with charge)Disabled toiletsEducation/study areaFacilities for groupsFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberWelcome HostWheelchairs availableAccepts groupsFacilities for conferencingFacilities for corporate hospitality

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs acceptedSmoking not allowed

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Nov 2019
Sat 30 Nov - Sun 1 Dec 2019
Sat 7 - Sun 8 Dec 2019
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Dec 2019
Wed 18 - Sun 22 Dec 2019
Sun 16 - Mon 17 Feb 2020
Wed 19 - Fri 21 Feb 2020
Sun 23 - Mon 24 Feb 2020
Wed 26 - Fri 28 Feb 2020
Sun 1 - Mon 2 Mar 2020
Sun 8 - Mon 9 Mar 2020
Sun 15 - Mon 16 Mar 2020
Sun 22 - Mon 23 Mar 2020
Sun 29 - Mon 30 Mar 2020
Wed 1 - Fri 3 Apr 2020
Sun 5 - Mon 6 Apr 2020
Wed 8 - Fri 10 Apr 2020
Sun 12 - Mon 13 Apr 2020
Wed 15 - Fri 24 Apr 2020
Sun 26 - Mon 27 Apr 2020
Wed 29 Apr - Fri 1 May 2020
See website for train times. Trains in February, March & April (except 12th - 13th & 15th - 17th) run to Dolygaer only.

Prices

2019 Fares: Adults £15.00, Seniors £13.50, Children 16 years & under £6.25 (under 3 years free).
Fares for Santa Trains are at different prices.

Events at this Venue

date event
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Nov Santa Specials
Sat 30 Nov - Sun 1 Dec Santa Specials
Sat 7 - Sun 8 Dec Santa Specials
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Dec Santa Specials
Wed 18 - Sun 22 Dec Santa Specials
Sun 22 Mar Mother's Day Specials

Contact

Enquiries

Address

Pant Station,
Merthyr Tydfil,
CF48 2DD

Location

Directions

Plan route to Brecon Mountain Railway using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SO 061092  Lat: 51.77433 Long: -3.36124

Located just off the Heads of the Valleys trunk road, approx 3 miles north of Merthyr Tydfil. Follow the Mountain Railway signs from the A470 and A465.

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 3 miles from Merthyr Tydfil station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (with charge)Credit cards accepted (with charge)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Education/study areaEducation/study area
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Welcome HostWelcome Host
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for conferencingFacilities for conferencing
  • Facilities for corporate hospitalityFacilities for corporate hospitality
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted
  • Smoking not allowedSmoking not allowed