Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Workshop/Course item typeTailor Made & Inspiring Art Workshops. at Pengwernydd

Workshop/Course, from 11 Dec 2017, £45-£225

On location

On location

We sometimes work out outdoors in stunning locations.

Details

Tailor made and inspiring art workshops set in the beautiful Cambrian Mountains not far from Cardigan Bay. One to Five days, book as many or as few as you want.

At 'Art at Pengwernydd' we offer a tailor-made Art Workshop using the media of your choice:-
Watercolour, acrylic, oil and mixed media incorporating inks, pastels, graphite, charcoal etc.

We provide the opportunity to work 'en plein air' on fine days in beautiful locations around the farm and surrounding area. We also have a light and airy room for working indoors.

Art workshops are £45 per person per day, £50 with lunch, and can be combined with a stay at Pengwernydd.
We start the day with a chat over coffee about the media we will be using and finish with a look at the day's work over a cup of tea and lovely home made cakes.
Bring any materials and equipment you have with you. If you are a beginner or require extra materials we can supply them at a small cost.
Wear comfortable clothing suitable for painting indoors or out.
All tea, coffee and light refreshments are included. Light lunch is available at £5 per person (booked in advance).

We take our inspiration from the surrounding landscape. Pengwernydd Farm is situated right on the edge of the beautiful Cambrian Mountains not far from Cardigan Bay. Whether its the farm and its animals, the wildness of the forests and waterfalls or the romantic ruins of old miners cottages and farmsteads that inspires you, its all right on our doorstep. New for 2017, sea and shore.

Workshop Themes

Pastures Workshop - Pengwernydd Farm is surrounded by pastures grazed by our cattle and sheep. Throughout the year
we have a variety of wild flowers and grasses. The foxgloves flower in the summer months and the livestock are out in the fields. You can choose to 'home in' on the detail or incorporate the wider surroundings and grazing animals.

Llantrisant Church Workshop - Overlooking Pengwernydd Farm, the little church is set on a hill top and commands stunning views over moorland and farmland dotted with remote cottages. The viewpoint can be the church and its ancient stones or the wider surrounding area.

Mountains and Red Kites Workshop - In the upland pastures of Pengwernydd Farm, we have amazing views across the Cambrian Mountains. Red Kites and Buzzards call and swoop in the skies above the farm. A rocky crag stands as a sentinel over the miners' cottages below and there is also a lake we can take inspiration from.

Romantic Ruins Workshop - The surrounding fields are dotted with ruined buildings left over from the mining. The 'romantic ruin', a little piece of history, a glimpse into the past. We will go to the site of one and use the setting in our compositions.

Animal Sketching Workshop - The animals on the farm make excellent life models, from the chickens to the horse. Sketching, then develop your ideas further.

Waterfalls, Myths and Tales Workshop - Steep wooded hills, dotted with ancient hill-forts, are cut by plunging watercourses. Experience a landscape steeped in history and legend. Look for evidence of past lives. Imagine the journeys made by pilgrims and monks. And then there's Hafod......... Be Inspired!

Sea and Shore - We have access to the beautiful Cardigan Bay. Sweeping Bays and stony remote beaches. Crashing waves and atmospheric sky's. Georgian Harbours, piers and proms. Seabirds, dolphins, seals and seashells. There's plenty to inspire.

Education/study areaFacilities for groupsOn-site light refreshmentsPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberAccepts groupsFacilities for conferencing

Disabled accessDogs accepted

Event details

Dates Times
Tue 19 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 20 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 21 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 22 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 27 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 28 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 8 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 9 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 10 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 11 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 15 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 16 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 18 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 19 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 24 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 25 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 26 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Sat 27 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 29 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 30 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 31 Jan 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 2 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 5 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 6 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 7 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 8 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 14 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 15 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 16 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 19 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 20 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 21 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 23 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 28 Feb 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 1 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 2 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 5 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 6 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 7 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 9 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 12 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 13 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 14 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 15 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 19 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 20 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 23 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 26 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 27 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 28 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 29 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 30 Mar 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 3 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 4 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 5 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 11 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 12 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 13 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 16 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 17 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 18 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 20 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 23 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 24 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 26 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 27 Apr 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 8 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 9 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 11 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 14 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 15 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 16 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 17 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 29 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 30 May 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 1 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 5 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 6 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 7 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 8 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 11 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 12 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 15 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 19 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 20 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 21 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 22 Jun 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 9 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 10 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 11 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 12 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 16 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 17 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 19 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 20 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 25 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 26 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 27 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 30 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 31 Jul 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 1 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 3 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 6 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 7 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 8 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 9 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 15 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 16 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 17 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 20 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 21 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 22 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 24 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 29 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 30 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 31 Aug 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 3 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 4 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 5 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 7 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 10 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 11 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 12 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 13 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 17 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 18 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 21 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 25 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 26 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 27 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 28 Sep 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 15 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 16 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 17 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 19 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 22 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 23 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 25 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 26 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 31 Oct 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 1 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 2 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 5 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 6 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 7 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 13 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 14 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 15 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 21 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 22 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 23 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 26 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 27 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 28 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 30 Nov 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 4 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 5 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 6 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 7 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 10 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 11 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 14 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 18 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 19 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 20 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 21 Dec 2018 10:30 to 15:30

Prices

£45 per person per day, £50 with a light lunch. Come for just one day or book a short course, up to five days.

Contact

Margaret Hopkins

01974282422

Address

Pengwernydd,
Pontrhydygroes,
Ystrad Meurig,
Ceredigion,
SY25 6DS

Location

Directions

Plan route to Pengwernydd using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SN 729729  Lat: 52.33942 Long: -3.86699

From Aberystwyth take the B4340 signposted Trawsgoed, at Abermagwr turn left for Pontrhydygroes travel 5 miles Pengwernydd is on left with sign at bottom of lane.

Parking: free

Facilities

  • Education/study areaEducation/study area
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for conferencingFacilities for conferencing
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted