Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Workshop/Course item typeTailor Made & Inspiring Art Workshops. at Pengwernydd

Workshop/Course, from 16 Aug 2017, £45-£225

On location

On location

We sometimes work out outdoors in stunning locations.

Details

Tailor made and inspiring art workshops set in the beautiful Cambrian Mountains not far from Cardigan Bay. One to Five days, book as many or as few as you want.

At 'Art at Pengwernydd' we offer a tailor-made Art Workshop using the media of your choice:-
Watercolour, acrylic, oil and mixed media incorporating inks, pastels, graphite, charcoal etc.

We provide the opportunity to work 'en plein air' on fine days in beautiful locations around the farm and surrounding area. We also have a light and airy room for working indoors.

Art workshops are £45 per person per day, £50 with lunch, and can be combined with a stay at Pengwernydd.
We start the day with a chat over coffee about the media we will be using and finish with a look at the day's work over a cup of tea and lovely home made cakes.
Bring any materials and equipment you have with you. If you are a beginner or require extra materials we can supply them at a small cost.
Wear comfortable clothing suitable for painting indoors or out.
All tea, coffee and light refreshments are included. Light lunch is available at £5 per person (booked in advance).

We take our inspiration from the surrounding landscape. Pengwernydd Farm is situated right on the edge of the beautiful Cambrian Mountains not far from Cardigan Bay. Whether its the farm and its animals, the wildness of the forests and waterfalls or the romantic ruins of old miners cottages and farmsteads that inspires you, its all right on our doorstep. New for 2017, sea and shore.

Workshop Themes

Pastures Workshop - Pengwernydd Farm is surrounded by pastures grazed by our cattle and sheep. Throughout the year
we have a variety of wild flowers and grasses. The foxgloves flower in the summer months and the livestock are out in the fields. You can choose to 'home in' on the detail or incorporate the wider surroundings and grazing animals.

Llantrisant Church Workshop - Overlooking Pengwernydd Farm, the little church is set on a hill top and commands stunning views over moorland and farmland dotted with remote cottages. The viewpoint can be the church and its ancient stones or the wider surrounding area.

Mountains and Red Kites Workshop - In the upland pastures of Pengwernydd Farm, we have amazing views across the Cambrian Mountains. Red Kites and Buzzards call and swoop in the skies above the farm. A rocky crag stands as a sentinel over the miners' cottages below and there is also a lake we can take inspiration from.

Romantic Ruins Workshop - The surrounding fields are dotted with ruined buildings left over from the mining. The 'romantic ruin', a little piece of history, a glimpse into the past. We will go to the site of one and use the setting in our compositions.

Animal Sketching Workshop - The animals on the farm make excellent life models, from the chickens to the horse. Sketching, then develop your ideas further.

Waterfalls, Myths and Tales Workshop - Steep wooded hills, dotted with ancient hill-forts, are cut by plunging watercourses. Experience a landscape steeped in history and legend. Look for evidence of past lives. Imagine the journeys made by pilgrims and monks. And then there's Hafod......... Be Inspired!

Sea and Shore - We have access to the beautiful Cardigan Bay. Sweeping Bays and stony remote beaches. Crashing waves and atmospheric sky's. Georgian Harbours, piers and proms. Seabirds, dolphins, seals and seashells. There's plenty to inspire.

Education/study areaFacilities for groupsOn-site light refreshmentsPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberAccepts groupsFacilities for conferencing

Disabled accessDogs accepted

Event details

Dates Times
Mon 21 Aug 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 22 Aug 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 23 Aug 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 25 Aug 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 30 Aug 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 31 Aug 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 1 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 4 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 5 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 6 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 11 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 12 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 13 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 14 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 18 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 19 Sep 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 11 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 12 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 13 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 16 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 17 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 18 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 20 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 23 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 24 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 26 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 27 Oct 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 1 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 2 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 3 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 6 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 7 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 8 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 10 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 13 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 14 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 15 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 16 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 22 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 23 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 24 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 27 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 28 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 29 Nov 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 1 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 5 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 6 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 7 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 8 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Mon 11 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 12 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 15 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Tue 19 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 20 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 21 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Fri 22 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Wed 27 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30
Thu 28 Dec 2017 10:30 to 15:30

Prices

£45 per person per day, £50 with a light lunch. Come for just one day or book a short course, up to five days.

Contact

Margaret Hopkins

01974282422

Address

Pengwernydd,
Pontrhydygroes,
Ystrad Meurig,
Ceredigion,
SY25 6DS

Location

Directions

Plan route to Pengwernydd using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SN 729729  Lat: 52.33942 Long: -3.86699

From Aberystwyth take the B4340 signposted Trawsgoed, at Abermagwr turn left for Pontrhydygroes travel 5 miles Pengwernydd is on left with sign at bottom of lane.

Parking: free

Facilities

  • Education/study areaEducation/study area
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for conferencingFacilities for conferencing
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted