Refine your search

Type of Venue






Or Venue Name


image for Historic Site item typeHaverfordwest Priory (Cadw)

  • Cadw Welsh Government

Historic Site, free entry

Haverfordwest Priory

Haverfordwest Priory


Haverfordwest Priory was a house of Augustinian Canons Regular on the banks of the Western Cleddau at Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire.

It was founded around 1200 on land given by Robert Fitztancard, the lord of Haverfordwest. It was dissolved in 1536 and was acquired by Richard and Thomas Barlow, brothers of William Barlow, bishop of St David's, in 1268, who began the process of demolition that results in the ruin seen today. From 1983 to 1996, the site (now under control of Cadw) has been excavated and the outlines of the buildings are visible.

Much architectural material of a high standard was discovered and can be seen in Haverfordwest museum. Also unearthed was a unique medieval garden with raised beds.

Accepts groups

Children welcomeDogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Smoking not allowed

Opening Details

Open all the time

Daily 10.00am - 4.00pm. Closed 24, 25, 26 December and 1 January.
Last admission 30 minutes before closing.


Free entry




Quay Street,
SA61 1BE



Plan route to Haverfordwest Priory (Cadw) using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SM 955153  Lat: 51.79928 Long: -4.96625

From High Street, follow Quay Street to bottom of Union Hill.

Accessible by Public Transport: 0.6 miles from Haverfordwest station


  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)
  • Smoking not allowedSmoking not allowed