Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeCambrian Heritage Railways (Llynclys)

Steam Railway, next open Sat 19 - Sun 20 Aug 2017

Cambrian Heritage Railways at Llynclys

Cambrian Heritage Railways at Llynclys

Details

Oswestry was a railway town from the 1860’s until passenger services ended in 1966, though quarry trains ran until 1988. Oswestry Station was the headquarters of the Cambrian Railways – a group that ran over 300 miles of track from Wrexham to Whitchurch in the east, to Aberystwyth and Pwllheli in the west and Brecon to the south. The town had two stations - the Cambrian Railways station (which still stands on Oswald Rd) and the GWR station (now Morrison’s car park).

The Cambrian Heritage Railways operate a 1200 metre section of line from a replica, period station at Llynclys South, to Pen-y-Garreg Lane, Pant; the station has a number of sidings with rolling stock stored here. All passenger trains are heritage diesel multiple units. This section of the line is 5 miles south of Oswestry - see also Cambrian Heritage Railways at Oswestry.

All passenger trains are heritage diesel multiple units.

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sat 19 - Sun 20 Aug 2017
Sat 26 - Mon 28 Aug 2017
Sat 2 - Sun 3 Sep 2017
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Sep 2017
Sat 16 - Sun 17 Sep 2017
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Sep 2017
Sun 22 Oct 2017
Sat 28 Oct 2017
Sun 3 Dec 2017
Sun 10 Dec 2017
Sun 17 Dec 2017
Trains run every half hour from 11:00 to 15:30.

Prices

Prices from Adult £5.00, Concessions £4.00, Child £3.00. Tickets allow all day unlimited travel. All passenger trains are heritage diesel multiple units.

Events at this Venue

date event
Sat 26 Aug Bat Train
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Sep Heritage Open Days
Sat 28 Oct Halloween Train

Address

Llynclys South Station,
Llynclys,
Oswestry,
SY10 8LJ

Location

Directions

Plan route to Cambrian Heritage Railways (Llynclys) using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SJ 284239  Lat: 52.80803 Long: -3.06359

Llynclys South Station is just off the A483, 5 miles south of Oswestry. Join the B4396 at Llynclys crossroads and head towards Knockin.

Accessible by Public Transport: 7 miles from Gobowen station